May Meeting on 05/14/2024 at 7PM at First Christian Church, 306 College Street, Carrollton, GA.   More Info

Convoy On The Air Ends

WGARS was one of thirteen clubs across the United States to participate in the "Convoy On The Air" event.  Approximately seventy vehicles made their way from Washington, D.C. to San Diego, California over a one month period, re-enacting the original convoy from 1920, which took place to demonstrate military vehicles could be moved across country.

At the time of the original convoy there was no Interstate Highway system, just a patchwork of state and federal highways that interconnected. One of them, "Bankhead Highway", was just such a network of roads.  Over a period of 116 days the original convoy completed the route, with Villa Rica, Georgia being one of the rest stop locations.

As an event station operating concurrently with the convoy, WGARS made 400+ contacts in various modes and bands using the call sign of "K2G" over a period from September 18th thru October 19th.

Thanks to all those participating, including WD8LQT (John Playford), W3RWT (Gerald Roman), KM4BYH (Wayne Hitch), and WX4BK (Brian Keahl) for their participation.

join

Upcoming Events

Mon Apr 22 @ 8:00PM
Club Net on 146.640mhz
Thu Apr 25 @ 8:00PM
Carroll ARES Net
Mon Apr 29 @ 8:00PM
Club Net on 146.640mhz
Thu May 02 @ 8:00PM
Carroll ARES Net
Sat May 04 @10:00AM
License Testing
Mon May 06 @ 8:00PM
Club Net on 146.640mhz
Thu May 09 @ 8:00PM
Carroll ARES Net
Mon May 13 @ 8:00PM
Club Net on 146.640mhz
Thu May 16 @ 8:00PM
Carroll ARES Net
Mon May 20 @ 8:00PM
Club Net on 146.640mhz
Loading feeds...

Web Development Company


X-Ray:
GeoMagnetic:
Status
Status
West Georgia Amateur Radio Society, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit Corporation.
Copyright (c) WGARS 2014. All rights reserved.